Duke of Edinburgh

Silver Duke of Edinburgh Award Practice Journey
Blue Mountains Wednesday March 20 – Friday March 22nd, 2019

After two weeks of soaking rain, it was with trepidation that the group of twenty OLMC girls and forty-two De La Salle boys set off in the early morning train to the Blue Mountains for three days of hiking and camping. The students were well prepared with loaded packs full of camp gear, maps, wet weather gear, warm clothes and all their food, only to find the first hike at Wentworth Falls was in the sunshine! The scenery was spectacular as the groups mingled while they hiked along the muddy tracks. The campsite was at Katoomba Falls, where the night grew cold and mist settled over the tents.  

The second day saw the group walk the Federal Pass Track down in the Jamieson Valley below the famous Three Sisters to Leura Cascades, then back along the Prince Henry Cliff Top Walk to camp. There were many tired legs after the thousands of stairs! Each night the students cooked their own meals on the small gas stoves before settling in their tents. 

Day three was the easier day, with the group riding the Scenic World Skyrail, Cable Car and the very steep train. They also walked the Rainforest Walk to Witch’s Leap Waterfall, which was certainly flowing due to all the rain!

Congratulations to all the boys and girls who chose to complete this component of their Silver Duke of Edinburgh Award; they showed resilience, enthusiasm and self-sufficiency as well as a certain amount of caring for the well-being of each other. Thank you to the teachers who also completed the above challenge:

Ms Annmarie Rayer, Ms Alison Conlon, Mrs Vanessa Westfallen and Mr Jason Mayoh.

Well done to all.

Mrs Joanne King and Mr Will Carroll, Duke of Edinburgh Award Leaders.


OLMC Girls:

Erin Day, Lara De Battista, Emily Green, Caitlin Harper, Rachel Hussein, Nicole James, Lily McAdam, Hope Misek, Sophie Newbury, Zoe Parkes, Holly Regis, Laura Sargeant, Talara Scarr, Tara Smith, Amy Sultana, Bree Summerhayes, Chloe Thomson, Tegan Whitelegg,  Tiffany Wilson.

De La Salle Caringbah Boys:

Jy Bailey, Mitchell Beatson, Jimmy Beer, Declan Bourke, Isaac Bruce, Noah Callanan, Damon Carr, Jordan Collins, Travis Cooke, Patrick Crosser, Luis DeSilva, Ryan Donaghy, Kent Ferlazzo, Henry Fisher, Chae Flemming, Matthew Frank, Blake Fraser, Dane, Grant, Luke Gribble, Nik Hatjinikitas, Ben Hunton, Will Jessop, Riley Kentwell, Liam Kiss, Alex Kotrolos, Harry Luxford, Harry MacNamara, Kyle Meldrum, Christian Muzic, Oliver Pate, Kye Plummer, Blair Pomeroy, Cameron Robb, Bailey Sant, Ethan Shipley, Andrew Townsend, Ben Wesley, Thomas Whitehill, Zeke Williams, Jack Winchester.


Mrs Joanne King, 
Duke of Edinburgh Coordinator